A 23-year-old law student's story of surviving adult life with braces.

Update!

Wow, so it has obviously been a REALLY long time!  WordPress sent me an email this week about some password issues, so I reset and logged in for the first time in apparently 7 years.  I guess this site still gets visitors from time to time, so I thought maybe I should finish out the braces story for anyone who is just starting down that road.

Looking back, I see that I expected to get the braces off in October of 2012.  Yup, that didn’t happen.  I had to keep them on until April of 2013.  For 5 months, I was “that lawyer with the braces.”  But the time did come, and I’ve been braces free for over 5 years!  It’s crazy to think how time flies.

Anyway, I’m including some photos of the before and after and today.  I haven’t really had much movement, thank goodness.  I do have one spot on my bottom teeth that is a “food trap,” meaning it has a bigger space than between my other teeth, but it doesn’t bother me that much.  It’s definitely not visible.  The only real pain has been my permanent retainers.  They put them on the top and bottom, and I didn’t have any problems with them until last fall.  Then suddenly, the bottom retainer came off on one side.  That has happened three times now.  Fortunately, my orthodontist is awesome and waived any fees to re-glue and fix it each time.  (If anyone in Cinci is ever looking, Rinaldi Orthodontics is FANTASTIC).  So hopefully it stays put this time.

I am so, so glad I did this.  And if anyone is on the fence, realize that the time in braces is really pretty short compared to the rest of your life.  I know that sounds kind of deep for a mostly vanity-type decision, but it really changed the way my whole smile looks and prevented any possible health issues down the road.  I would do it again in a heart beat.

Thanks for checking out my blog!

Leave a comment